Story Extension Idea

Last week, I used Martina Bex’s script “El amigo simpático” for my 8th graders.  In her script, a nice girl helps three different friends.  Well, we didn’t get to the third friend when telling the story in either of my classes.  This turned out to be a good thing.

When I typed up the reading, I included a third paragraph about a friend who needs help because they can’t eat.  I inserted blanks for the name, the reason they can’t eat, and how the nice girl helps.  Working in pairs, students created new details and illustrated to show understanding.

I then spun this out even further.  I chose five of the better story ideas and re-typed them with correct grammar.  I copied their pictures as well.  The next day, my students paired up and read the other class’s stories aloud to each other.  Then, they got a stack of the pictures.  They had to match the pictures to the stories first, then caption each picture in Spanish.  What a great way to spin out a story and get more reps!

Untitled

 

 

Leave a Reply

